President appoints new agriculture minister

SEOUL, Aug. 10 (Yonhap) -- President Moon Jae-in appointed his new agriculture minister on Friday, one day after a parliamentary hearing committee endorsed the appointment.

Lee Gae-ho was formally named the minister of agriculture, food and rural affairs in a ceremony held at the presidential office Cheong Wa Dae.

The 59-year-old is the sixth lawmaker from the ruling Democratic Party to have been successfully named a cabinet member since Moon took office in May 2017.

Lee sat on the parliamentary agriculture, livestock and fishery committee in 2016 and 2017.

The native of South Jeolla Province replaced Kim Yung-rok, who resigned in March to run in the June 13 local elections. Kim was elected governor of South Jeolla Province.

Source: Yonhap News Agency

You may also like...