Gyeonggi governor scores another dominant victory in ongoing ruling party presidential primary

SEOUL/CHEONGJU, South Korea-- Gyeonggi Province Gov. Lee Jae-myung claimed another solid electoral victory Sunday in the ruling Democratic Party's ongoing national presidential primary race.

Lee finished first in the primary vote held among registered DP members in the Sejong-North Chungcheong Province region at the CJB Convention Center, garnering 54.54 percent of the ballots cast.

Former DP chief Rep. Lee Nak-yon came in second with 29.72 percent, followed by ex-Justice Minister Choo Mi-ae with 7.09 percent and ex-Prime Minister Chung Sye-kyun at 5.49 percent.

Rep. Park Yong-jin finished fifth with 2.22 percent of the votes, followed by Rep. Kim Doo-gwan with 0.93 percent.

The latest results marked the Gyeonggi Province governor's second consecutive victory in the DP primary, which kicked off Aug. 31 for a total of 11 rounds of regional votes to select the party's final candidate to run in the March 9 presidential election.

A day earlier, Lee won a strong victory in the primary's first leg in the Daejeon-South Chungcheong Province region.

Lee has won an average 54.72 percent of the votes so far, in comparison with runner-up Lee Nak-yon's 28.19 percent.

The DP is scheduled to hold nine additional primary votes across the country, including in the southern city of Gwangju on Sept. 25, wrapping up with the final destination of Seoul on Oct. 10.

Source: Yonhap News Agency

You may also like...