Armenian parliament ratifies Treaty on Joint Air Defense System with Russia

Armenia's National Assembly (parliament) ratified an agreement on June 30 on creating a unified air defense system in the Caucasus region together with Russia, the Sputnik International news agency reported.

A total of 102 out of the parliament's 131 lawmakers voted in favor of the deal, while eight voted against it.

Russian and Armenian defense ministers Sergei Shoigu and Seyran Ohanyan signed an agreement on the creation of a joint regional missile defense system in the Caucasus in December 2015.

The agreement was signed for a period of five years with the possibility of further extension every five years, unless one of the parties notifies the other side of its intention to suspend the agreement at least six months before the expiration of its next term.

Source: Trend

You may also like...